Theatre Communications Group Announces New Appointments to Board of Directors

Theatre Communications Group (TCG), the national organization for theatre, announces Kevin Moriarty, artistic director of Dallas Theater Center, as its new board chair, taking over the position from Diane Rodriguez, associate artistic director of Center Theatre Group. Moriarty joins a slate of officers that includes vice chairs Marshall Jones III and Katheryn M. Lipuma, secretary Larissa FastHorse, and treasurer Tim Jennings.

TCG also welcomes six new members to its board of directors: Kristen Coury, founder and producing artistic director, Gulfshore Playhouse, Naples, FL;Derek Goldman, co-founding director, Laboratory for Global Performance and Politics; Director, Playwright/Adapter, Professor, Georgetown University, Washington, DC; Susan Hilferty, costume and set designer, New York, NY; Eileen J. Morris, artistic director, The Ensemble Theatre, Houston, TX; Lisa Portes, director and educator, Chicago, IL; and Shana C. Waterman, head of television, Universal based, One Race TV, Los Angeles, CA.

“My faith in our theatre field is annually renewed by witnessing the leadership of TCG’s brilliant body of trustees,” said Teresa Eyring, executive director of TCG. “Year after year, each new class of TCG’s board members brings a diverse and dynamic range of perspectives to help guide our vision of a better world for theatre, and a better world because of theatre.”

“I have found my participation on TCG’s board to be extremely rewarding,” said Kevin Moriarty, artistic director, Dallas Theater Center. “Building on 55 years of service to the field, TCG is leading the charge to a sustainable future for theatre in the U.S. and beyond. I’m proud to be able to join with the board and staff of TCG to fulfill its ambitious plans for the future.”

Returning board members include: Christopher Acebo, associate artistic director, Oregon Shakespeare Festival, Ashland, OR; Sarah Bellamy, co-artistic director, Penumbra Theatre Company, St Paul, MN; Joseph P. Benincasa, president and CEO, The Actors Fund, New York, NY; Adrian Budhu, New York, NY; Joshua Dachs, president, Fisher Dachs Associates Theatre Planning and Design, New York, NY; Teresa Eyring, executive director, Theatre Communications Group, New York, NY; Larissa FastHorse, playwright and choreographer, Santa Monica, CA; Michelle Hensley, artistic director; Ten Thousand Things Theater Company, Minneapolis, MN; Ed Herendeen, producing director, Contemporary American Theater Festival, Shepherdstown, WV; Chris Jennings, executive director, Shakespeare Theatre Company, Washington, DC; Tim Jennings, executive director, The Shaw Festival, Niagara-on-the-Lake, ON, Canada; Marshall Jones III, producing artistic director, Crossroads Theatre Company, New Brunswick, NJ;Max Leventhal, owner’s representative, The Woodruff Arts Center, Atlanta, GA; Kathryn M. Lipuma, executive director; Writers Theatre, Glencoe, IL;Kevin Moriarty, artistic director, Dallas Theater Center, Dallas, TX; Meghan Pressman, managing director, Woolly Mammoth Theatre Company, Washington, DC; Heather Randall, actor, producer, trustee at New York Theatre Workshop, New York, NY and Los Angeles, CA; Francine T. Reynolds, artistic director; New Stage Theatre, Jackson, MS; Ellen Richard, interim executive director, Laguna Playhouse, Laguna Beach, CA; Blake Robison,artistic director; Cincinnati Playhouse in the Park, Cincinnati, OH; Eric Rosen, artistic director, Kansas City Repertory Theatre, Kansas City, MO;Michael S. Rosenberg, managing director, La Jolla Playhouse, San Diego, CA; Nikkole Salter, actress, playwright, educator, and arts advocate, Bloomfield, NJ; Tim Sanford, artistic director, Playwrights Horizons, New York, NY; John Douglas Thompson, actor, New York, NY; Meiyin Wang, director, Los Angeles, CA; Robert P. Warren, president, The William & Eva Fox Foundation, Bethesda, MD; and Harold Wolpert, managing director, Roundabout Theatre Company, New York, NY.

Members of TCG’s board serve three two-year terms. Board officers serve terms of one-year, concurrent with the fiscal year of July 1, 2016 to June 30, 2017. Learn more about the TCG Board here:

For over 50 years, Theatre Communications Group (TCG), the national organization for U.S. theatre, has existed to strengthen, nurture, and promote the professional not-for-profit theatre. TCG’s constituency has grown from a handful of groundbreaking theatres to nearly 700 member theatres and affiliate organizations and more than 11,000 individuals nationwide. TCG offers its members networking and knowledge-building opportunities through conferences, events, research and communications; awards grants, approximately $2 million per year, to theatre companies and individual artists; advocates on the federal level; and serves as the U.S. Center of the International Theatre Institute, connecting its constituents to the global theatre community. TCG is North America’s largest independent publisher of dramatic literature, with 14 Pulitzer Prizes for Best Play on the TCG booklist. It also publishes the award-winning American Theatre magazine and ARTSEARCH®, the essential source for a career in the arts. In all of its endeavors, TCG seeks to increase the organizational efficiency of its member theatres, cultivate and celebrate the artistic talent and achievements of the field and promote a larger public understanding of, and appreciation for, the theatre.