slide_1RAZOR & TIE’s new audiophile imprint ANALOG SPARK will launch with the vinyl release of The Sound of Music – 50th Anniversary Edition. The score from Rodgers & Hammerstein’s 5-time Academy Award-winning movie musical will be available in a newly-remastered and expanded two disc version on 180-gram vinyl. The original 16-track Grammy® Hall Of Fame-inducted RCA Victor soundtrack album will also be available on 180-gram vinyl and super audio CD (SACD), and include the eight-page booklet which accompanied the original vinyl release. All releases will be available on March 10.


As part of an extensive half-century celebration, The Sound of Music – 50th Anniversary Edition will feature previously unreleased orchestral cues from the score, and all vocal performances in one set for the first time. Led by Julie Andrews, whose work in the film earned her a Golden Globe Award and an Academy Award nomination, the soundtrack rings out with heartwarming, iconic standards. From the title composition, “The Sound of Music,” to “Sixteen Going on Seventeen,” “Do-Re-Mi,” “Edelweiss,” “So Long, Farewell,” “Climb Ev’ry Mountain,” and of course, “My Favorite Things,” The Sound Of Music is a treasure for all time.


Nominated for ten Academy Awards and winner of five (including “Best Picture” and “Best Director”), The Sound of Music stands as the most successful movie musical of all time. The soundtrack is a classic in its own right, having spent its first four years on the Billboard Top Albums chart, including fourteen weeks at number one. It has subsequently sold over 20 million units to date.


In addition to the previously unreleased material, the 50th anniversary edition will also include new introductory notes from Julie Andrews and Theodore S. Chapin, president and executive director of Rodgers & Hammerstein.


The standard compact disc will be available through Legacy Recordings, the catalog division of Sony Music Entertainment. 20th Century Fox Home Entertainment will release The Sound of Music 50th Anniversary Blu-ray, a 5-disc Ultimate Collector’s Edition. Included in the package will be an exclusive 50th Anniversary CD featuring the original soundtrack album expanded with eight exclusive international bonus tracks from the Spanish, French and Italian-language versions of the film and never-before-released in the United States. Four new books are being published in 2015 to coincide with the anniversary. They are: The Sound of Music Companion – 50th AnniversaryEdition (Laurence Maslon, Pavilion/Rizzoli); The Sound of Music Story (Tom Santopietro, St. Martin’s Press); Sound of Music FAQ (Barry Monush, Applause Books); andThe Sound of Music: BFI Film Classics (Caryl Flinn, BFI).


ANALOG SPARK is the new audiophile imprint of leading independent record label RAZOR & TIE. The imprint is focused on the reissue of classic and acclaimed albums on 180-gram vinyl and SACD, and is working with the best sources, mastering engineers and pressing plants to ensure that their releases are of the highest quality. Future releases include albums from Kate Bush, Ben Folds Five, The Dave Brubeck Quartet and Laura Nyro.


With over 40 million units sold, 24-plus years in business and multiple Grammy Awards, RAZOR & TIE is one of the largest privately owned independent music labels and publishing companies in North America. The full service label (which was founded in 1990 and has been co-owned since its inception by entrepreneurs Cliff Chenfeld and Craig Balsam) employs an expert staff that provides strategic marketing, publicity, new media/online marketing, tour marketing, radio and video promotion, as well as in-house creative team and video production services.


For more information, please visit


THE SOUND OF MUSIC – 50th Anniversary Edition – Double LP Track List


  1. Prelude / The Sound of Music (**)
  2. Overture / Praeludium / Dixit Dominus / Morning Hymn / Alleluia (*)
  3. Maria
  4. I Have Confidence
  5. Sixteen Going on Seventeen (**)
  6. My Favorite Things / Salzburg Montage (**)
  7. Do-Re-Mi
  8. The Sound of Music
  9. The Lonely Goatherd
  10. Edelweiss
  11. Grand Waltz (*)
  12. Laendler
  13. So Long, Farewell
  14. Processional Waltz (*)
  15. Goodbye Maria / How Can Love Survive Waltz (*)
  16. Edelweiss Waltz (*)
  17. Entr’acte
  18. Climb Ev’ry Mountain (**)
  19. My Favorite Things (reprise)
  20. Something Good (**)
  21. Processional / Maria (The Wedding)
  22. Sixteen Going on Seventeen (reprise)
  23. Do-Re-Mi (reprise)
  24. Edelweiss (reprise)
  25. So Long, Farewell (reprise)
  26. Nuns And Nazis / Escape / Climb Ev’ry Mountain (reprise) / Finale (**)
  27. End Titles (*)


* indicates previously unreleased

** includes previously unreleased material

THE SOUND OF MUSIC – 50th Anniversary Edition – SACD / Single LP Track List

  1. Prelude / The Sound of Music
  2. Overture / Preludium (Dixit Dominus)
  3. Morning Hymn / Alleluia
  4. Maria
  5. I Have Confidence
  6. Sixteen Going on Seventeen
  7. My Favorite Things
  8. Climb Ev’ry Mountain
  9. The Lonely Goatherd
  10. The Sound of Music
  11. Do-Re-Mi
  12. Something Good
  13. Processional / Maria
  14. Edelweiss (Reprise)
  15. So Long, Farewell
  16. Climb Ev’ry Mountain (Reprise)