Steppenwolf Theatre Company Announces New Ensemble Member Malcolm Ewen

Steppenwolf Theatre Company Announces New Ensemble Member Malcolm Ewen 1 Malcolm Ewen photographed by Michael Brosilow

Malcolm Ewen photographed by Michael Brosilow

Steppenwolf Theatre Company Artistic Director Anna D. Shapiro announced today the addition of longtime stage manager Malcolm Ewen into the world-renowned Steppenwolf ensemble. Ewen has worked at Steppenwolf since 1987 and has stage managed more than 40 shows and taken four Steppenwolf productions to Broadway—including The Grapes of Wrath and Edward Albee’s Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf? both of which won Tony Awards. He has been at the helm of Steppenwolf shows that transferred to the Royal National Theatre in London; His Majesty’s Theatre in Perth, Australia; The Kennedy Center in Washington, D.C.; and many regional theaters. Ewen serves on the Council of Actors’ Equity Association. Last spring, he was awarded the Del Hughes Award for Lifetime Achievement in Stage Management by the Stage Manager’s Association.

“There is no one who embodies what it means to be an ensemble member more than Malcolm Ewen. We all know the lie of the theatre is that it’s made by the people you can see. For more than 30 years, Malcolm has been a pillar of Steppenwolf contributing immensely to the honor, to the legacy and to the spirit of this company. Malcolm has touched the lives of every single member of our ensemble and it’s time for the world to know the impact he has made—and continues to make—on us all,” shares Artistic Director Anna D. Shapiro.

Steppenwolf co-founder Gary Sinise shares, “Malcolm Ewen is our brother, he’s our dear friend, he’s our gifted steady hand ensuring, in so many instances over the years, that our productions sailed into port without hitting the rocks. Malcolm has been a part of our Steppenwolf family and his officially becoming a member is simply a formal way to tell him we love him, we appreciate him, we’re grateful for him and that he has been a member of our ensemble living within our hearts for decades.”

“I feel like I’m a lucky guy. For over 30 years I have been given the opportunity to work at one of the greatest theatres in the world. I’ve had the chance to work with hundreds of extraordinarily talented people—from those onstage to those on the creative teams, on the production staff and backstage; from many wonderful artistic and executive directors to those on the administrative staffs, front of house staff and parking lot attendants. I’m fortunate to attain a goal that I thought wasn’t even a possibility—to be the first stage manager to be invited to join the Ensemble,” shares Malcolm Ewen.

Formed by a collective of actors in 1976, Steppenwolf’s ensemble features the best in American Theatre. Since Anna D. Shapiro began as Artistic Director in 2015, Cliff Chamberlain, Carrie Coon, Celeste M. Cooper, Glenn Davis, Audrey Francis, Rajiv Joseph, Sandra Marquez, Caroline Neff, Karen Rodriguez and Namir Smallwood have also been welcomed into the ensemble.

Malcolm Ewen (Production Stage Manager) has worked at Steppenwolf Theatre Company since 1987 and his Steppenwolf credits include Familiar, The Doppelgänger (an international farce), BLKS, The Christians, Mary Page Marlowe, John Steinbeck’s East of Eden, Airline Highway, Russian Transport, after the quake, American Buffalo, The March, The Tempest and Man From Nebraska. He has taken four Steppenwolf Theatre Company shows to Broadway including The Grapes of Wrath and Edward Albee’s Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf? both of which won Tony Awards. Also on Broadway, he was the Production Stage Manager of Paul Simon’s musical The Capeman. He has been fortunate enough to take Steppenwolf productions all around the country and the world.

Malcolm Ewen is proud to serve on the Council of Actors’ Equity Association. He is a recipient of the Del Hughes Award for lifetime achievement in stage management given by the Stage Manager’s Association of the United States and of the Robert Christen Award for Technical Collaboration presented by the Michael Merritt Awards. He was an adjunct faculty member at the Theatre School at DePaul university for five years in the early 1990s. A graduate of Amherst College, he has returned to Vermont during summers for more than 30 years to direct at the Weston Playhouse Theatre Company, where he is one of the Founding Directors. He has also worked at the Goodman Theatre, Northlight Theatre, Remains Theatre, Berkeley Rep., Arena Stage, Long Wharf Theatre, Crossroads Theatre and the La Jolla Playhouse.

Steppenwolf ensemble members include: Joan Allen, Kevin Anderson, Alana Arenas, Randall Arney, Kate Arrington, Ian Barford, Robert Breuler, Cliff Chamberlain, Gary Cole, Carrie Coon, Celeste M. Cooper, Glenn Davis, Kathryn Erbe, Malcolm Ewen, Audrey Francis, K. Todd Freeman, Frank Galati, Francis Guinan, Moira Harris, Jon Michael Hill, Tim Hopper, Tom Irwin, Rajiv Joseph, Ora Jones, Terry Kinney, Tina Landau, Martha Lavey*, Tracy Letts, John Mahoney*, John Malkovich, Sandra Marquez, Mariann Mayberry*, Tarell Alvin McCraney, James Vincent Meredith, Laurie Metcalf, Amy Morton, Sally Murphy, Caroline Neff, Bruce Norris, Austin Pendleton, Jeff Perry, William Petersen, Yasen Peyankov, Rondi Reed, Molly Regan, Karen Rodriguez, Anna D. Shapiro, Eric Simonson, Gary Sinise, Namir Smallwood, Lois Smith, Rick Snyder, Jim True-Frost and Alan Wilder. *In Memoriam

Steppenwolf Theatre Company is proud to be part of the 2019 Year of Chicago Theatre, presented by the City of Chicago and the League of Chicago Theatres. To truly fall in love with Chicago, you must go to our theatres. This is where the city bares its fearless soul. Home to a community of creators, risk-takers, and big hearts, Chicago theatre is a hotbed for exciting new work and hundreds of world premieres every year. From Broadway musicals to storefront plays and improv, there’s always a seat waiting for you at one of our 200+ theatres. Book your next show today at

Steppenwolf Theatre Company is the nation’s premier ensemble theater. Formed by a collective of actors in 1976, the ensemble of 49 members represent a remarkable cross-section of actors, directors and playwrights. Thrilling and powerful productions from Balm in Gilead to August: Osage County and Pass Over—and accolades that include the National Medal of Arts and 12 Tony Awards—have made the theater legendary. Steppenwolf produces hundreds of performances and events annually in its three spaces: the 515-seat Downstairs Theatre, the 299-seat Upstairs Theatre and the 80-seat 1700 Theatre. Artistic programing includes a seven-play season; a two-play Steppenwolf for Young Adults season; Visiting Company engagements; and LookOut, a multi-genre performances series. Education initiatives include the nationally recognized work of Steppenwolf for Young Adults, which engages 15,000 participants annually from Chicago’s diverse communities; the esteemed School at Steppenwolf; and Professional Leadership Programs for arts administration training. While firmly grounded in the Chicago community, nearly 40 original Steppenwolf productions have enjoyed success both nationally and internationally, including Broadway, Off-Broadway, London, Sydney, Galway and Dublin. Anna D. Shapiro is the Artistic Director and David Schmitz is the Executive Director. Eric Lefkofsky is Chair of Steppenwolf’s Board of Trustees. For additional information, visit and

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.