American Blues Theater accepting submissions for National 2018 Blue Ink Playwriting Award

American Blues Theater, Chicago’s second oldest Equity Ensemble, under the continued leadership of Artistic Director Gwendolyn Whiteside, announces the submission period for the National 2019 Blue Ink Playwriting Award. Playwrights are invited to submit one (1) manuscript for consideration. The winner will have the opportunity to further develop their script with American Blues Theater. The submission period runs July 1 – August 31, 2018. Submissions are accepted at

American Blues named Inda Craig-Galván the winner of the national 2018 Blue Ink Playwriting Award. Craig-Galván’s play, WELCOME TO MATTESON!, was selected from a pool 606 submissions. As part of the award, Goodwin received a $1,000 cash prize and a staged reading of WELCOME TO MATTESON! directed by Krissy Vanderwarker.

About the Blue Ink Playwriting Award

The annual Blue Ink Playwriting Award was created in 2010 to support new work. Since inception, American Blues Theater has named 8 Award winners, 50 finalists, and 68 semi-finalists. American Blues awarded more than $5,000 in cash and prizes for 2018.

Each year American Blues Theater accepts worldwide submissions of original, unpublished full-length plays. The winning play is selected by Artistic Director Gwendolyn Whiteside and the theater’s Ensemble. The playwright receives a monetary prize of $1,000 and a developmental workshop or staged reading at American Blues Theater in Chicago.

Submissions for the 2019 Blue Ink Playwriting Award open July 1, 2018. All submissions must be received by American Blues Theater by August 31, 2018 at 11:59pm. Playwrights may only submit one (1) manuscript each year for consideration.

About American Blues Theater

Winner of the American Theatre Wing’s prestigious National Theatre Company Award, American Blues Theater is a premier arts organization with an intimate environment that patrons, artists, and all Chicagoans call home.  American Blues Theater explores the American identity through the plays it produces and communities it serves.

The diverse and multi-generational artists have established the second-oldest professional Equity Ensemble theater in Chicago.  The 33-member Ensemble has 600+ combined years of collaboration on stage. As of 2018, the theater and artists received 197 Joseph Jefferson Awards and nominations that celebrate excellence in Chicago theater and over 35 Black Theatre Alliance Awards. The artists are honored with Pulitzer Prize nominations, Academy Awards, Golden Globe Awards, Emmy Awards and numerous other accolades.